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CHECKLIST AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR DIRECT ACCESS
CERTIFICATION APPLICATION

SUBMIT THE FOLLOWING:

[l

APPLICATION — This application will not be considered until all sections have been completed; you must be 18 years of
age to apply. You may need to submit supporting documentation regarding your responses to the licensure questions.
Please refer to the application for more information.

FEE — All fees are non-refundable.
The fee for application for Direct Access is $75.00.
VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE — You must provide written verification directly from the issuing regulatory authority,

in all jurisdictions, in which you have ever held a license, including expired, inactive, and current licenses. Please contact
each jurisdiction regarding the process of making this request.

APPLYING BY TRANSITIONAL DOCTORATE PROGRAM IN PHYSICAL THERAPY — You must submit your
OFFICIAL transcripts which must be received from your school to include the date of graduation, and program completed
before licensure will be issued.

APPLYING WITH EXPERIENCE - If applying by experience, you must document (1) at least three years of post-
licensure, active practice on company letterhead of your clinical practice verifying your dates of employment and the
number of hours worked with their original signature, and (2) evidence of 15 contact hours of continuing education in
medical screening or differential diagnosis, including passage of a post-course examination by providing copies of the
certificates of completion via email, fax, or mail.

GENERAL INFORMATION ABOUT THE APPLICATION PROCESS

Applications received without the required processing fee will be returned to the sender.

Once all documentation has been received, the licensing process takes approximately 10 business days. Board staff
will contact you at the email address provided on your application with a status update.

Applications will remain on file with the board for one year from the date of receipt. If, at the end of one (1) year,

licensure/certification/registration is not issued, the applicant shall reapply in accordance with the requirements of the
Regulations.
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DIRECT ACCESS CERTIFICATION APPLICATION

MARK ONLY ONE BOX:

[] Transactional Doctorate of Physical Therapy

[ ] Experience

APPLICANT INFORMATION (PLEASE PRINT IN BLUE OR BLACK INK)

FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME LAST NAME AND SUFFIX
DATE OF BIRTH SOCIAL SECURITY NO. OR VA CONTROL NO.*

MM DD YY
ADDRESS OF RECORD**: STREET CITY STATE ZIP CODE
ALTERNATE PUBLIC ADDRESS***: STREET CITY STATE ZIP CODE
BUSINESS NAME & ADDRESS: STREET CITY STATE ZIP CODE
HOME PHONE: WORK PHONE: MOBILE PHONE:
PRIVATE E-MAIL ADDRESS PUBLIC E-MAIL ADDRESS
GRADUATION DATE DEGREE COLLEGE/UNIVERSITY AND CITY, STATE

MM DD YY

*In accordance with §54.1-116 Code of Virginia, you are required to submit your Social Security Number or your control number issued by the Virginia
Department of Motor Vehicles. If you fail to do so, the process of your application will be suspended and fees will not be refunded. This number will be used
by the Department of Health Professions for identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided by law. Federal and state law
requires that this number be shared with other state agencies for child support enforcement activities. NO LICENSE WILL BE ISSUED TO ANY
INDIVIDUAL WHO HAS FAILED TO DISCLOSE ONE OF THESE NUMBERS.

**The address information you provide is your address of record with the Board. Please be advised that all notices from the board, to include renewal notices,
licenses, and other legal documents, will be sent to the address of record provided. If you provided a different public address, this information is not subject
to public disclosure under the Freedom of Information Act and will not be sold or distributed for any other purpose.

***This address is subject to public disclosure under the Freedom of Information Act. You may provide an address other than a residence, such as a Post
Office Box or a practice location if you wish.

APPLICANTS DO NOT USE SPACES BELOW THIS LINE — FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

APPROVED BY
LICENSE NUMBER PENDING NUMBER BASE STATE RECEIPT NUMBER
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OUT-OF-STATE LICENSURE: If applicable, list all jurisdictions in which you have been issued a license to practice as a
funeral service, funeral directing, or funeral embalming licensee: active, inactive, or expired. Indicate the license number and

date issued.

STATE/JURISDICTION

LICENSE NUMBER

ISSUE DATE / STATUS

TYPE OF LICENSURE

[] Physical Therapist
[] Physical Therapist Assistant
[] Other (please specify)

[] Physical Therapist
[] Physical Therapist Assistant
[] Other (please specify)

[] Physical Therapist
[] Physical Therapist Assistant
[] Other (please specify)

LICENSURE QUESTIONS

Any supporting documentation related to the questions below should be submitted to:
Virginia Board of Physical Therapy

Perimeter Center

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300

Henrico, VA 23233

1.

Have you ever been denied to sit for a physical therapy or physical therapy assistant licensure exam?

If yes, submit notices, orders, etc., from the regulatory authority authorized to take such actions.

NO

Have you ever been denied a physical therapy or physical therapy assistant license?

If yes, submit notices, orders, etc., from the regulatory authority authorized to take such actions.

Have you applied for licensure in another jurisdiction and have not received licensure or are you
currently applying for licensure in another jurisdiction?

Have you ever been convicted of a violation of /or pled Nolo Contendere to any federal, state or local
statute, regulation, or ordinance, or entered into any plea bargaining relating to a felony or
misdemeanor? Including convictions for driving under the influence; excluding traffic violations.
Additionally, any information concerning an arrest, charge, or conviction that has been sealed,
including arrests, charges, or convictions for possession of marijuana, does not have to be disclosed.

Attach your original criminal history record, a certified copy of any final order, decree, or case
decision by a court or regulatory agency with lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case
decision, and any other information you wish to be considered with your application (i.e. information
on the status of incarceration, parole, or probation, reference letters documentation of rehabilitation,
etc.).

Have you ever had any of the following disciplinary actions taken against your license to practice PT
or PTA or any such actions pending? (a) suspension/revocation (b) probation (c) reprimand/cease
and desist (d) had your practice monitored (¢) monetary penalty?

If yes, submit notices, orders, etc., from the regulatory authority authorized to take such actions.

Have you had any malpractice suits brought against you in the last ten years?
Provide details. Letters must be submitted by your attorney regarding malpractice suits.

Page 3

Physical Therapy Direct Access Certification - Revised 03/2023



ADDITIONAL LICENSURE QUESTIONS YES NO
A. Do you have any reason to believe that you would pose a risk to the safety or well-being of your

patients or clients? If yes, please provide a full explanation. Note: The Board may ask for additional [ | L]
documentation.

B. Are you able to perform the essential functions of a practitioner in your area of practice with or
without reasonable accommodation? If no, please provide a full explanation. Note: The Board may [ | []

ask for additional documentation.
C. Within the past five years, have you exhibited any conduct or behavior that could call into question
your ability to practice in a competent and professional manner? u u

Please provide a full explanation on a separate page.
D. Within the past five years, have you been disciplined by any entity?

Please provide a full explanation and any associated orders or letters from the entity.
E. Within the past 5 years, have any conditions or restrictions been imposed upon you or your practice
to avoid disciplinary action by any entity?

If yes, please provide a full explanation and any associated orders or letters from the entity. (NOTE: [ ] L]
The Board may request a copy of a current participation contract and summary of compliance and/or
documentation of successful completion. You may consider providing this documentation with your

application, or have the program send this documentation directly to the Board.)

AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT

I certify that I have carefully read the laws and regulations related to the practice of Physical Therapy, which are available at
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Physical Therapy, and I fully understand that funds submitted as part of the application process shall
not be refunded.

I certify by my signature below: I am the person applying for licensure/certification/registration and meet the qualifications
required by Virginia law and regulations. Further, I certify that the information provided on this application has been personally
provided and reviewed by me and that the statements made on the application are true and complete. [ understand that providing
false or misleading information, as well as omitting information, in response to information required in this application or as part
of the application process is considered falsification of the application and may be grounds for denial of or taking disciplinary
action against an existing license/certificate/registration.

I agree to the above certification.

Signature of Applicant Date
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